Close X

EUSAIR - Adriatic & Ionian Region

EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region (EUSAIR)

The EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region (EUSAIR) is a macro-regional strategy adopted by the European Commission and endorsed by the European Council in 2014. The Strategy builds on the Adriatic-Ionian Initiative, which concern eight countries. The Strategy aims at creating synergies and fostering coordination among all territories in the Adriatic-Ionian Region.
The Region is a functional area primarily defined by the Adriatic and Ionian Seas basin. Covering also an important terrestrial surface area, it treats the marine, coastal and terrestrial areas as interconnected systems. With intensified movements of goods, services and peoples owing to Croatia’s accession to the EU and with the prospect of EU accession for other countries in the Region, port hinterlands play a prominent role. Attention to land-sea linkages also highlights impacts of unsustainable land-based activities on coastal areas and marine ecosystems.


Strategy Point:


EUSAIR has a limited focus on areas of mutual interest with high relevance for the Adriatic-Ionian countries. It is built on four thematic
1. Blue growth
2. Connecting the region (transport and energy networks)
3. Environmental quality
4. Sustainable tourism


The EUSAIR covers nine countries:
four EU Member States (Croatia, Greece, Italy, Slovenia)
and five non-EU countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina,
Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia).

Loading Animation