Close X

EUSALP – Alpine Region

EU Strategy for the Alpine Region (EUSALP)

The EU Strategy for the Alpine Region (EUSALP) is based on a joint initiative of Alpine countries and regions building upon a long tradition of co-operation in the Alps.
It aims at addressing Alpine-specific challenges that cannot be tackled at the state or regional level alone. This includes for example common demographic trends, climate change and economic globalization, at not least matters of cross-border mobility including "energy mobility".
The EUSALP presents an opportunity for closer cooperation to address these challenges together.

Contact points:


The overarching challenge for the Alpine Region is to balance development and protection through innovative approaches which strengthen this area located in the center of Europe as a living space for people and nature as well as a field for economic and social activities in a sustainable way.
Enhancing attractiveness and competitiveness of the Alpine Region as well as reducing social and territorial disparities for smart, sustainable and inclusive growth in the region constitutes a tailor-made contribution to the growth of the region in line with EU 2020 Strategy objectives.  
As its main objective, the EU Strategy for the Alpine Region aims to ensure that this region remains one of the most attractive areas in Europe, taking better advantage of its assets and seizing its opportunities for sustainable and innovative development in a European context.

The EUSALP is built upon closer cooperation in 3 Thematic Policy Areas and priorities:

Pillar 1: Growth and Innovation
Objective: Fair access to job opportunities, building on the high competitiveness of the Region
Pillar 2: Mobility and Connectivity
Objective: Sustainable internal and external accessibility to all
Pillar 3: Environment and Energy
Objective: A more inclusive environmental framework for all and renewable and reliable energy solutions for the future
+ Cross-cutting Policy Area: Governance, including Institutional Capacity
Objective: A sound macro-regional governance model for the Region

EUSALP countries and regions:

EU member states:
  • Austria (whole country)
  • France (alpine regions, see map below)
  • Germany (alpine regions, see map below)
  • Italy (alpine regions, see map below)
  • Slovenia (whole country)

Non-EU member states:
  • Liechtenstein (whole country)
  • Switzerland (whole country)

Loading Animation