Close X

EUSBSR – Baltic Sea Region

EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR)

The European Union Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR) is the first macro-regional strategy in Europe. The Strategy was approved by the European Council in 2009 following a communication from the European Commission. The aim is to strengthen cooperation between the countries bordering the Baltic Sea in order to meet the common challenges and to benefit from common opportunities facing the region.


The Strategy is divided into three objectives, which represent the three key challenges of the Strategy:

1. Save the sea
- Clear water in the sea
- Rich and healthy wildlife
- Clean and safe shipping
- Better cooperation

2. Connect the region
- Good transport conditions
- Reliable energy markets
- Connecting people in the region
- Better cooperation in fighting cross-border crime

3. Increase prosperity
- Baltic Sea region as a frontrunner for deepening and fulfilling the
   single market
- EUSBSR contributing to the implementation of Europe 2020 Strategy
- Improved global competitiveness of the Baltic Sea region
- Climate change adaptation, risk prevention and management

The Action Plan for the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region reflects the three overall objectives of the EUSBSR.
The Action Plan comprises 13 Policy Areas and 4 Horizontal Actions, which represent the main areas where the EUSBSR can contribute to improvements, either by tackling the main challenges or by seizing key opportunities of the region.

Typically, one or two Member State(s) coordinate(s) each Policy Area or Horizontal Action, and they work on its implementation in close contact with the Commission and all stakeholders, i.e. other Member States, regional and local authorities, inter-governmental and non-governmental bodies. They need to ensure that the Action Plan is consistent with all EU policies.


The EU member states involved in the EUSBSR are Sweden, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland.
The Strategy is also welcoming cooperation with EU neighbouring countries (Russia, Iceland, Norway and Belarus).

Loading Animation